Dylan songs of the 1960s

Dylan in Chronological Order of writing (not in the order of recording)

On this site there are reviews of Dylan’s compositions from all parts of his life, up to the most recent writings, but of late I have been trying to put these into chronological order, and fill in the gaps as I work.

Here’s the index to the Chronology Series

Dylan songs of the 1960s…



Dylan in 1961: The Overview

  1. Talking Bear Mountain Picnic Massacre Blues.
  2. Talkin Hava Negeilah blues
  3. Man on the street
  4. Hard times in New York Town



Dylan in 1962: The Overview

  1. Ballad for a friend (Blues; Death)
  2. Rambling Gambling Willie
  3. Standing on the highway (Blues)
  4. Talkin’ John Birch Society Blues (Right wing protest)
  5. Let me die in my footsteps
  6. Blowing in the wind  (It’s not the world, it’s the way you see the world)
  7. Corrina Corrina (Lost love)
  8. Quit your Lowdown Ways
  9. Down the Highway (Lost love, Song of Leaving)
  10. Tomorrow is a long time (Lost love)
  11. Hard Rain’s a gonna fall (War protest)
  12. Ballad of Hollis Brown (Rural protest)
  13. John Brown (War protest)
  14. Don’t think twice (Song of Leaving)
  15. Paths of Victory. (The future will be fine)
  16. Walking Down the Line
  17. Oxford Town (Racism Protest)
  18. Kingsport Town (lost love, moving on)
  19. Hero Blues
  20. Whatcha Gonna Do? 


Dylan in 1963: the overview – Dylan the storyteller

  1. Masters of War (War protest)
  2. Girl from the North Country (Lost Love)
  3. Boots of Spanish Leather (Song of Leaving)
  4. Bob Dylan’s Dream (Lost love)
  5. Only a Hobo
  6. Who killed Davey Moore?  (Boxing, Inequality)
  7. Seven Curses
  8. With God on our Side (Protest)
  9. Talking World War III Blues (Protest, surrealism)
  10. Only a pawn in their game  (Social commentary, protest)
  11. Eternal Circle (Nothing changes)
  12. North Country Blues (Rural protest)
  13. Gypsy Lou  (Art, Protest)
  14. When the ship comes in  (Protest)
  15. The Times they are a-Changing (Protest)
  16. Percy’s Song
  17. The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll (Protest, racism)
  18. Lay Down your Weary Tune
  19. One too many mornings (Song of Leaving)
  20. Restless Farewell


Bob Dylan in 1964: the overview. Dylan the storyteller.

  1. Chimes of Freedom (Protest)
  2. Mr Tambourine Man (Surrealism; the way we see the world)
  3. I don’t believe you (She acts like we never have met) (Lost love)
  4. Spanish Harlem Incident (Love)
  5. Motorpsycho Nightmare  (Humour)
  6. It ain’t me babe (Song of Farewell)
  7. Mama you’ve been on my mind (Lost love)
  8. Ballad in Plain D  (Lost love)
  9. Black Crow Blues
  10. I shall be free number 10  (Talking Blues; humour)
  11. To Ramona (Love)
  12. All I really want to do (Song of Farewell; Individualism)
  13. I’ll keep it with mine (Don’t follow leaders; individualism)
  14. My back pages (Individualism)
  15. Gates of Eden (Protest, Individualism, A world that makes no sense)
  16. It’s all right ma – 2013 review (Protest; Individualism, A world that makes no sense)  It’s all right ma – 2015 review
  17. If you’ve gotta go, go now (Song of Farewell; Individualism)


Bob Dylan in 1965: the overview – the year Dylan invented two totally new forms of music.

  1. Farewell Angelina (Song of Farewell)
  2. Subterranean Homesick Blues (Beat Poetry as rock music)
  3. Outlaw Blues
  4. Love Minus Zero (Love)
  5. She Belongs to Me (Love)
  6. It’s all over now baby blue (Song of Farewell)
  7. Bob Dylan’s 115th Dream (Beat poetry as rock music)
  8. On the Road Again
  9. Maggie’s Farm
  10. It takes a lot to laugh it takes a train to cry (aka Phantom Engineer)
  11. Like a Rolling Stone (Song of Disdain)
  12. Tombstone Blues
  13. Desolation Row (Political protest; It’s not the world, it’s how you see the world)
  14. Can you please crawl out your window? (Song of Disdain)
  15. Positively Fourth Street (Song of Disdain)
  16. Highway 61 Revisited (Blues)
  17. Just like Tom Thumb’s Blues
  18. Queen Jane Approximately
  19. Ballad of a thin man
  20. I wanna be your lover
  21. Visions of Johanna


Dylan in 1966 the overview: writing songs while the band patiently waits

  1. Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again
  2. Sad Eyed Lady of the Lowland
  3. Fourth Time Around
  4. Leopard skin pill-box hat
  5. One of us must know (sooner or later)
  6. She’s your lover now (disdain)
  7. Absolutely Sweet Marie
  8. Just like a woman
  9. Pledging my time
  10. Most likely you go your way and I’ll go mine
  11. Temporary Like Achilles
  12. Rainy Day Womene
  13. Obviously Five Believers
  14. I want you
  15. If I was a king (the song from the Edinburgh hotel)


Dylan in 1967: the overview.   A year of two, or maybe three halves.

  1. Tiny Montgomery
  2. Sign on the cross
  3. Million dollar bash (surreal characters)
  4. I’m not there (lost love, regret)
  5. You ain’t going nowhere
  6. This Wheel’s on Fire
  7. I shall be released
  8. Too Much of Nothing
  9. Tears of rage
  10. Quinn the Eskimo – The Mighty Quinn (surreal characters)
  11. The Ballad of Frankie Lee and Judas Priest
  12. Drifter’s Escape (There is no cause and effect)
  13. I dreamed I Saw St Augustine
  14. All along the watch tower
  15. John Wesley Harding
  16. As I Went out one Morning
  17. I am a lonesome hobo
  18. I pity the poor Immigrant
  19. The Wicked Messenger
  20. Dear Landlord
  21. I’ll be your baby tonight (original) I’ll be your baby tonight (second thoughts)
  22. Down along the cove


Bob Dylan in 1968 – the overview.  As his country pulls itself apart, Dylan takes a year out.

  1. Lay Lady Lay


Bob Dylan in 1969: everything is lovely

  1. I threw it all away
  2. To be alone with you
  3. One more night
  4. Peggy Day
  5. Country Pie
  6. Tell me it isn’t true
  7. Tonight I’ll be Staying Here With You
  8. Living the blues

Elsewhere on Untold Dylan

Index of all the songs on the site

Dylan’s opening lines: an index

How Dylan writes songs, and other articles.

The Bob Dylan Project is a jukebox of every Dylan song – and like Untold Dylan it is free.  I hope you enjoy that site too, as they have found us, and adopted us (so to speak).